My Cart

The Women Who Changed Architecture Jan Cigliano Hartman

The Women Who Changed Architecture

Jan Cigliano Hartman

Details: Hardcover
Size: 7.5 x 10 IN
Pages: 336
Publication Date: 03/29/2022
Rights: World
ISBN: 9781616898717

Enter your email address below to be notified when this item is available:


A visual and global chronicle of the triumphs, challenges, and impact of over 100 women in architecture, from early practitioners to contemporary leaders.

Marion Mahony Griffin passed the architectural licensure exam in 1898 and created exquisite drawings that buoyed the reputation of Frank Lloyd Wright. Her story is one of the many told in The Women Who Changed Architecture, which sets the record straight on the transformative impact women have made on architecture. With in-depth profiles and stunning images, this is the most comprehensive look at women in architecture around the world, from the nineteenth century to today. Discover contemporary leaders, like MacArthur Fellow Jeanne Gang, spearheading sustainable design initiatives, reimagining cities as equitable spaces, and directing architecture schools. An essential read for architecture students, architects, and anyone interested in how buildings are created and the history behind them.


Jan Cigliano Hartman is principal of Jan Hartman Books and a former senior editor at Princeton Architectural Press.

Architect Beverly Willis is cofounder of the New York City-based Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation, which advances the recognition of women's contributions to architecture.

Amale Andraos is the dean of Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, and cofounder of WORKac, a New York-based studio named the top US design firm by Architect in 2017.