My Cart

Close
McKim, Mead & White Charles Follen McKim, William Rutherford Mead, Stanford White, Richard Guy Wilson

McKim, Mead & White

Selected Works 1879 to 1915

Charles Follen McKim, William Rutherford Mead, Stanford White, Richard Guy Wilson

$100.00
Details: Hardcover with jacket
Size: 9 X 12 IN
Pages: 428
Publication Date: 10/24/2018
Rights: World
ISBN: 9781616897574


Enter your email address below to be notified when this item is available:

Description

McKim, Mead & White is the best-known architecture firm of America's Gilded Age, and designed many of the most iconic buildings including the Boston Public Library, Washington Square Arch, and the campuses of Columbia and New York Universities. The firm built opulent residences and private clubs for the nation's wealthiest and most powerful, buildings that are now well-loved cultural institutions. McKim, Mead & White: Selected Works 1879-1915 collects the work of these influential architects and their successors. Compiling the original four volumes into one, this magnificent edition is supplemented with an introduction from Richard Guy Wilson and an essay by Leland Roth. Published in association with the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art.

Richard Guy Wilson holds the Commonwealth Professor's Chair in Architectural History at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. He has authored, co-authored, or edited over a dozen books.

Editorial Reviews

CityLab

There's no denying McKim, Mead & White's impact on America's Gilded Age architecture, which the book's new volumes aim to capture.

Providence Journal

Selected Works reminds us that it is possible to be a large and hugely successful architecture firm without compromising excellence.

A Daily Dose of Architecture

...the book is a must for fans of McKim, Mead & White and of Classical architecture and urbanism.